John Barkers

Solicitors in Lincolnshire

John Barkers Solicitors provides legal services to clients in Lincolnshire and the surrounding areas. We serve Gainsborough, Grantham, Sleaford, Spalding, Gainsborough, Market Rasen and many more towns and villages in the area.

We understand that finding a lawyer you can trust is no easy task. At John Barkers Solicitors we strive to make this process easier for our clients. Our team of experienced attorneys will provide comprehensive legal advice tailored to fit your exact needs.

Call our friendly team now
on 01724 706800

Lines open Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm

Live Chat: Available

Request a callback

Prefer to talk by email?

Fill in this form and a member of our Lincolnshire team will give you a call Jon Stones - Director
When should we call?

Areas served in Lincolnshire

John Barkers Solicitors Serving Louth
John Barkers Solicitors Serving Mablethorpe

Serving the legal needs of the UK since 1884

At John Barkers Solicitors we are passionate about representing our clients through every step of their case. Our experienced team of solicitors are committed to providing an honest, straightforward approach when it comes to legal advice and representation. We will always strive for the best outcome for you, without charging unnecessarily high fees. When you choose John Barkers Solicitors you can be confident that your case is in safe hands. We take great pride in our ability to provide clients with timely advice and assistance regardless of their location or situation.

About Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire is a county located in the East Midlands of England. It covers an area of 2,364 square miles and has a population of around 800,000 people. It is bordered by Northamptonshire to the south, Cambridgeshire to the east, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire to the west, and South Yorkshire to the north.

Early History

The area that is now Lincolnshire was first settled during the Iron Age when it formed part of the pre-Roman British kingdom of Corieltauvi. During this time, several hillforts were created in what later became known as Lincolnshire including one at Ancaster. The Romans eventually invaded in AD 43 and their period of rule lasted until the 5th century.

The Middle Ages

At the time of the Norman Conquest, Lincolnshire was divided into two vast administrative regions known as Lindsey and Kesteven. These two areas were combined to form the county of Lincolnshire by William I in 1086. In 1130, King Henry I founded Lincoln Cathedral which is still standing today.

Modern History

Lincolnshire underwent major changes during the Industrial Revolution as it moved from being a largely rural area to an increasingly industrialised and urban one. Railways were built throughout the county, and several major ports such as Grimsby, Immingham and Boston grew in importance. In 1974 a major reorganisation of local government led to the current two-tier system in place today.

Notable People

Lincolnshire has been home to many notable people over the centuries including William Wordsworth (poet), Robert Herrick (poet), John Clare (poet) and Lord Bryon (poet). Other prominent figures include Guy Gibson (RAF pilot) and Alan Turing (computer scientist).

Culture and Leisure

Lincolnshire is renowned for its flat landscape, open skies and picturesque villages. It also has several notable monuments such as the Belton House stately home and the Lincoln Cathedral which dominate the skyline. There are many leisure activities available in the area including horse riding, walking, cycling, golf and bird watching.